The colorful autumn show is winding down here in Rochester NY. We have had a couple of hard freezes followed by several days of Indian Summer. My new velvet cloak smoketree has such a rich red color and I hope to see it continue next year in all its glory.

velvet cloak smoketree

 

I found this volunteer Burning Bush the day my son Jay came to cut down a set of 3 overgrown BB,s  along the back fence. Those bushes rarely ‘ burned’  back there due to the over hanging canopy protecting them. Their baby is in a sunnier spot in front of the house.

Burning bush

 

  Here’s another volunteer. This time the parent plants are in the front and their ‘baby’ got moved to the backyard as I started to build a hedgerow along the north fence. This spiraea truly has three season interest. There’s  great spring color as the leaves open, followed by red flowers in June, July, and August and more color in this autumn finale.

Spiraea Japonica 'Magic Carpet'

 

Thanks to the Indian Summer the Ajania continues with these bright blossoms. The leaves are so interesting that I’m thinking of
 transplanting  this one to 
add texture to other spots in the gardens. 
Ajania-still hanging in there
 
 
Meanwhile my favorite annual, the Million Bells ‘Cracklin Fire’  has escaped the killing frost and still has a few muted blossoms. They are it to win it, I guess.
 

Cracklin fire, million bells

 
The holly finally, after about 5 years, decided to bloom. There are  several mates for it.  I just wonder if the nonberry producers can contribute to the cause!

Festive Holly

 

To close, I have to mention my ‘Our Lady of Guadeloupe’.   I’ve been bringing the budded roses inside as they appear and putting them into a vase with warm water and just enjoying the show. When it was younger the stems seemed very weak, hardly supporting the blooms as they appeared.  Now it’s just a cascade of roses in varying degrees of blossoming as they hurry on to the depths of winter.

 

Rose, Our Lady of Guadeloupe

 
 
Once again thanks to Carol at May Dreams Gardens for continuing this tradition of ‘Garden Bloggers Bloom Day’. Check out other gardeners who contribute to the show. http://www.maydreamsgardens.com/.
