I just want to update myself as to when we finally had a frost and a hard freeze. Here in Greece NY it was November 7th to 8th along with the change from daylight savings to eastern standard time.  I dug the canna and left them to rest for a few days and I also managed to mulch the perennials and shrubs in the raised beds.  Now I’m wondering if I should mulch the new smoke tree.  My sense is that it will probably have sufficient snow cover to make it thru the winter. Truth to tell I have never even seen an incidence of ‘heaving’.(at least not that I have noticed). Except for putting the canna to bed and fashioning the endive forcing apparatus the garden seems to be at rest until spring.  EXCEPT for the plants indoors and of course the early quest for the ‘perfect’ heirloom tomato.

